Search TXNP

< More Nonprofit Exchanges

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg

Join us for The Big Show!
Lawndale Art Center

July, 2016

Opening Reception
Friday, July 22, 2016, 6:30 - 8:30 PM
Awards announced at 7 PM
Lawndale is readying itself  -  as it has for decades! - for The Big Show. This ambitious exhibition of new works by artists practicing within a 100-mile radius of Lawndale is appropriately and affectionately named; every year hundreds of artists submit their work for the consideration of a juror.
This year, we are thrilled to welcome not one but two established curators to jury
The Big ShowTina Kukielski, Executive Director of ART21 in New York, and
Apsara DiQuinzio, Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Berkeley Art Museum. This year, with change in the Lawndale air, we made the bold decision to waive the standard submission fee in order to encourage every eligible artist to throw his and her hat in the ring. In response to our gesture, over 510 artists submitted their work online for consideration -- the largest group to seek participation in the history of The Big Show!
The Big Show is energized by -- and remains vital because of -- the financial and enthusiastic support of our extended Lawndale family. We hope that this year you will consider making a gift in honor of the artists and audiences that benefit from this annual exhibition. 
We look forward to seeing you at The Big Show and hope that you will bring your family and friends to visit with you!
Apsara DiQuinzio
Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art and Phyllis C. Wattis MATRIX Curator

Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art and Phyllis C. Wattis MATRIX Curator Apsara DiQuinzio joined BAMPFA in the fall of 2012, and since then has organized over a dozen exhibitions, including Color Shift;Ballet of Heads: The Figure in the Collection, and MATRIX exhibitions with Nicole Eisenman, Paz Errázuriz, Anna Maria Maiolino, Geta Brătescu, John Zurier, Eric Baudelaire, Tarek Atoui, and many others. Before coming to BAMPFA, she was assistant curator of painting and sculpture at SFMOMA, where she organized solo exhibitions with Trisha Donnelly, Vincent Fecteau, R.H. Quaytman, and Paul Sietsema, as well as the major group exhibitions Six Lines of Flight: Shifting Geographies in Contemporary Art and The Air We Breathe: Artists and Poets Reflect on Marriage Equality. Prior to SFMOMA, DiQuinzio worked at the Whitney Museum of American Art, where she co-organized the 2004 Whitney Biennial, among numerous other exhibitions. She has contributed to journals such as ArtforumMousseCura, and The Exhibitionist, in addition to writing for many exhibition catalogs.

Tina Kukielski
Executive Director

Tina Kukielski is executive director of Art21, a nonprofit art organization specializing in digital media about contemporary art, and a curator and writer based in New York City. She has previously held curatorial positions at the Whitney Museum of American Art and the Carnegie Museum of Art, and has independently curated art projects around the world. She was a co-curator of the acclaimed 2013 Carnegie Internationaland was recently included in a list of "25 Women Curators Shaking Things Up" by She is curating the first museum exhibition of artist Susan Te Kahurangi King for the ICA Miami.
For the 2016 edition of The Big Show, guest jurors Apsara DiQuinzio, Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art and Phyllis C. Wattis MATRIX Curator of the Berkeley Art Museum, and Tina Kukielski, Executive Director of ART21, reviewed 1,389 works by 517 artists from which they selected 105 works by 87 artists for the exhibition. Artists selected for the exhibition include:
Fariba AbedinIsela Aguirre, Ann Albritton, Ariana Andrei, Daniela Antelo in collaboration with Clay Zaplac, Alphonse Argieard, Chris BakaySteven Baptiste, Amaechina Blot, Maria T. Bodelon-Nelson, Tania BotelhoCelan BouilletAllen BourneSusan BudgeCarolina BuitragoErick CalderonCarlos Canul, Jorge Canul, Tracy CarlsonMary H. CaseLindy ChambersMichelle Chen-DubosePeter ChokLim Chung, Dominic Clay, Angela CorsonShannon Crider, Jessica Crowl, Marky Dewhirst, William Dixon, Adrienne Duncan, Roslyn M. Dupre', Noah Edmundson, Kwanzaa Edwards, Karen EiseleTatiana EscallonDiane FraserGao Hang, Yvonne Gerych, Pablo Gimenez-Zapiola, David P. Gray, Wanda Harding, Nina HaysMarcos HernandezJimmy HinesRhonda HollemanHedwige JacobsChristy Karll, James Kerley, Hogan KimbrellIva KinnairdKoerieJoan Laughlin, Maureen Lax, Beth LeBlancPatti LennonMarie LetermeDenise LieblLulu LinWyatt LittleD.W. LongtinMax ManningColleen MaynardKelly O'BrienAranxa OrtegaJohn Oualline, Quentin Pace, Annette PalmerPage PilandChasity PorterAlejandro Rosas, Penelope Ross, Robert Ruello, Ann Randolph Sandberg, Rajab SayedA. M. SchaerMireille SchellhornWade SchmitzCassie SkellyMegan Spacek, Stacy Anne Tracy, Rosa Valdovinos, Justin Varner, Katya Vassilyeva, Elise Weber, William Witte and 
Many thanks to our Big Show 2016 Sponsors!
Names as of July 12, 2016
Kerry F. Inman and Denby Auble
Art Museum of South Texas
Art Supply on Main
Cedric N. Akue
The Brown Foundation
Jereann Chaney
John R. Eckel, Jr. Foundation
Xandra Eden
Volker Eisele
Far Fetched LLC DBA Brown
Felvis Foundation
Bill and Ann Fitzgibbons
Tim Kollatschny and Stephen Goldberg
Rob Greenstein
Brad and Linda Harmes
G.G. Hsieh and Mark Hausknecht
George and Mary Howe Hawkins
Houston Endowment
Cindee and Curtis Klement
Daniela Koontz
Joan Laughlin
Lester and Penelope Marks
Michelle Matthews
Gundi McCandless
Kathrine McGovern/McGovern Foundation
Brian and Jayne Piana
H. Russell Pitman
Bryan Scrivner
Richard Stout
Texas Commission on the Arts
Roy V. Thomas
Sydney Viehman
Eleanor Williams
Clint Willour
Dave Wilson
The Wortham Foundation
Volunteer during The Big Show! Volunteers are needed to assist during multiple events in conjunction with this year's Big Show! Click here to view shifts and sign up. 
Follow us!
Like us on Facebook View our photos on flickr Follow us on Twitter Visit our blog 
View our videos on YouTube Find us on Pinterest Follow us on Instagram 
Name | Company | Phone | Email | Website
Programs at Lawndale Art Center are supported in part by National Endowment for the Arts, Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, City of Houston through the Houston Museum District Association, Texas Commission on the Arts, Houston Endowment, The Brown Foundation, Inc., The John R. Eckel, Jr. Foundation, John P. McGovern Foundation, Joan Hohlt and Roger Wich Foundation, Felvis Foundation/David R. Graham, Mid-America Arts Alliance, John M. O'Quinn, Gracie and Bob Cavnar, Cecily E. Horton, Ann W. Harithas, Diana M. Hudson and Lee Kaplan, Jenny and Mark Johnson, Paula Murphy, Nicole and Joey Romano, Don Sanders and Laura Moore, Scott R. Sparvero, Mary Martha and Joel Staff, Nancy and Sidney Williams, Nina and Michael Zilkha, Abel Design Group, Architectural Floors, Sterling McCall Lexus, TeleFlex, United Airlines and other contributors, memberships, benefit events and many volunteers.
Lawndale Art Center, 4912 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst